Chocolate Mud Cake

I’m turning 30 this year and have decided to make cubecakes (aka square cupcakes).  I want to make them look like little Rubik’s Cubes, such as the below picture:

Rubiks cube

I want to make them 5cm x 5cm and went to Google to find a really good chocolate mud cake recipe.  I came across this wedding website where someone said that they’d tried 12 different mud cake recipes and then provided the link to their favourite.

The link was to an Exclusively Food Chocolate Mud Cake Recipe.

Here’s what I did for my trial run:

** INGREDIENTS **

375g Chocolate (combination of Milk and Dark Chocolate)
375g Salted Butter
1.5 tsp Coffee Granules
282ml / 1 cup + 1.5 Tbsp Water
488g / 3 + 1/4  cups Plain Flour
45g / 1/3 cup + 1 Tbsp Cocoa Powder
1/2 tsp + 1/4 tsp Bicarbonate of Soda
825g / 3 + 2/3 cups Caster Sugar
6 Large Eggs
60ml / 3 Tbsp Sunflower Oil
1 + 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
188ml / 3/4 cup Buttermilk

DSC_8177

** METHOD **

1. Place chocolate, butter, coffee and water in a large saucepan over low heat, stirring occasionally.  When chocolate and butter have melted, remove mixture from heat and allow to cool to lukewarm/room temperature.

DSC_8178 DSC_8179 DSC_8183

2. Sift the flour, cocoa powder and bicarbonate of soda together into a very large bowl.

DSC_8184

3. Add the caster sugar to the bowl with the flour mixture and stir the ingredients together until well combined.

DSC_8185 DSC_8186

4. In a medium bowl, place eggs, oil, vanilla and buttermilk.

DSC_8189

5. Whisk the wet ingredients together until well combined.  (I used a hand egg beater.)

DSC_8192

6. Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture and stir until well combined.

DSC_8193 DSC_8195

7. Add the chocolate mixture to the flour mixture in three batches, stirring until combined after each addition.

DSC_8196 DSC_8197

8. Pour the mixture into a 25cm x 25cm pan which has been greased.  (I also put baking paper at the bottom of the pan.)

DSC_8198

9. Bake on 150°C for 1.75 hours.

10. Remove cake from oven and allow to cool in the pan.  (The centre of mine collapsed. I’ll have to add more mixture when I make the real cubecakes.)

DSC_8202

11. When the cake has cooled to room temperature, remove it from the pan.  (The top surface of the cake has a crunchy crust which I will have to trim off when making for real.)

DSC_8203 DSC_8209

10. Put in an air-tight container and freeze.

11. More to come!  As soon as I get the Satin Ice Fondant I ordered from eBay I will continue.  I will say for now though that it’s very tasty.  I expected it to be a bit denser but everyone who tried it said it was great.

Leave a Reply

