Chocolate Ganache

Well yesterday I added buttercream icing to my white chocolate mud cakes, so I decided today to make some chocolate ganache.  This is my first attempt ever and it did not turn out very well.  The ganache broke/split but I couldn’t let good ingredients go to waste so I used it anyway.

DSC_8245 DSC_8250

This is how I did it:

** INGREDIENTS **

1/3 Cup Cream
250g Dark Chocolate
250g Milk Chocolate

DSC_8235

** METHOD **

1. Put the chocolate and cream in a saucepan over very low heat.

DSC_8236 DSC_8239

2. Stir frequently, and remove from heat when chocolate has just melted and mixture is smooth.

DSC_8241 DSC_8242 DSC_8243 DSC_8244

I poured the split ganache into another container and let it cool before using a knife to spread it onto the pieces of chocolate mud cake.

I now have my two iced flavours of mud cake ready to freeze.  The cakes taste fantastic and I’m undecided as to which is my favourite.

DSC_8254 DSC_8255

Leave a Reply

