Piñata Cookies

Cinco de Mayo pinata sugar cookies

After seeing this recipe on SHEKNOWS, I knew that had to make them.

But unfortunately, mine didn’t turn out quite like the one on the website!

DSC_0172

My problem was my horse cookie cutter.  The legs were too thin so as soon as I tried to pull the cutter out of the cookies, the legs stuck in the cutter and pulled off.

So I broke them into small pieces and served them like that.  They still looked interested and tasted great.  My colleagues ate them all so that’s positive!

** INGREDIENTS **

1 cup sugar
1 cup icing sugar
1 cup butter
1 cup vegetable oil
2 eggs
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon almond extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
5 cups flour
1 tablespoon vanilla essence

DSC_0124

** METHOD **

1. Cream sugars with butter.

DSC_0126 DSC_0127

2.  Beat in eggs.

DSC_0128

3.  Add oil.

DSC_0129 DSC_0130

4. Combine dry ingredients together and gradually add to the mixture.

DSC_0132

5.  Mix in vanilla essence and almond extract.

DSC_0135 DSC_0136

6.  Split the dough into five, even-sized balls.

DSC_0137

7. Add food colouring to each of the dough balls until desired colour is achieved.

DSC_0138 DSC_0141

DSC_0142

8.  Use a container the same width as your cookie cutter and line it with food wrap.  Split your coloured dough in half and begin layering the dough in the container.

DSC_0146 DSC_0148

9.  Cover the dough and freeze for four hours or overnight.  (I froze overnight.)

(At this stage I realised that I didn’t make nearly as much dough as I needed to.  So I had to use what I had already layered and put on top of itself.  It really spoiled the layering.)

DSC_0151

10.  After freezing, unwrap the dough and cut into slices.  Put them on a baking tray lined with baking paper.

Bake at 180°C for 12 minutes.

DSC_0160 DSC_0161

11.  Immediately after taking them out of the oven, use your cookie cutter to cut the cookie shapes.  For each completed cookie, you need three (one needs the centre cut out to form the hidden pocket).

DSC_0168 DSC_0170

This is where my method ends.  I managed the patience to cut only one shape when I decided to serve them in small pieces instead.

DSC_0171

Unfortunately I won’t attempt these again.  There was too much effort involved and disaster was evident.  Next time I’ll make rainbow/swirl sugar cookies.

Leave a Reply

