Piñata Cake

DSC_0304

I had so much fun making this.  A friend of mine sent me a picture of a Piñata Cake they came across online and I decided then and there that I had to make my own.

I thought that the best baking pan to use would be one that would ultimately form a 3D ball shape so I bought one from eBay.  It worked brilliantly and formed two perfect ball halves.

DSC_0288

I cheated this time round and used 2 x vanilla cake packet mixes.  I did some research online and found that Green’s Baking products were rated very highly for packet mixes.

I followed the directions on the back of the box, but had to bake the cakes for much longer than the recommended time.  At the recommended time, the knife came out of the centre of cake very wet.

DSC_0284

DSC_0285

Once cooled, I cut off the tops, hollowed out the centres ad added some mixed confectionary (I choose Jelly Beans and Clinkers).

DSC_0289

DSC_0292

It was then time to piece the ball together.  I achieved this by making some vanilla buttercream (see recipe in previous post).  I stuck the two halves together with a generous layer of buttercream and then iced the entire ball.

DSC_0295

The first cut was very nerve-wracking and required a lot of patience.  To my surprise, it didn’t collapse!

DSC_0301

DSC_0303

Overall, I think the Piñata Cake was a huge success with my work colleagues.

DSC_0305

In case you were wondering what I did with the inner cake…  I added it to crushed Oreos and Cream Cheese, and then topped it with melted chocolate.  It was delicious!!

DSC_0293

Leave a Reply

